top of page

Week 13

We had an awesome session today with Ethan Hein. The main presentation was on Ableton but also with some other great nuggets of information. It was so awesome watching him demonstrate all the abilities of Ableton, and showing us a little bit of how electronic music is made. However, even though I have experimented with Ableton in previous weeks, my confidence and familiarity with the program is still very low. I don't find the user interface particularly user-friendly so it makes a lot of the techniques that Ethan showed us today hard to find and apply. But half the battle is knowing that the option in out there, now all I need to do is learn it.


After listening to this session and also after doing this subject I have increased my appreciation for electronic and pop music ect. but 1000%. I was definitely a noob coming into it, and I still am, but I am a noob with a grounding of where to go. I really hope I get to continue my learning of electronic composition and production because it will be really valuable knowledge to impart on my students in the future if I have the opportunity. It's where music is heading, and we as music educators have a responsibility to keep up as best we can and have equal passion for that as we do pining after Beethoven.


I haven't had the time to experiment with the techniques Ethan showed us on Ableton because exams and assignments have taken up my time. But this session has left me wanting to know more and go and experiment in the future. It has really sold me on electronic music (it may not be my favourite music to sing along in the shower to), but it is definitely something I am going to keep in my musical world.


Over the holidays I am going to do something that Ethan inspired me to do in his other session in Fundamentals of Teaching. I am going to try and write a song everyday and try and get out of the mindset of the classical "right way" to compose a song. They are going to be bad! But I need to learn how to not be afraid and just go for it and make music for the sake of making music and not for the sake of doing it the right way. Who knows, I might even write a blog to keep me accountable. And maybe, just maybe, my 101st song might sound alright.


Here are my notes from the session (they are more for my use in the future but I may as well put them here):



Recent Posts

See All

Just a little more

So I didn't completely finish in the last post. Larisa was still working on her parts of the website and it was getting quite late in the day. She had written everything on word but hadn't put anythin

bottom of page